The Papery

First Bound Book

I am pretty happy with the result.  Although there are definitely mistakes, but I have to start somewhere right?

The cover is made of a heavy canvas, so I didn’t back it with paper.  I am making my own book binding paper for the next books that I attempt.  And the book’s covers and spine are made from a dense cardboard, so it’s not the sturdiest of books.  But I still really like it 🙂

Here is the view from the top:

first-bound-book-8

You can see that I misjudged the size of the cover so the book inside sits too far away from the binding.  But the canvas worked really well I think.

If you look at it from the front…or no wait…well here, when you look at it from this angle it looks better than it is:

first-bound-book-7

Although you can see that the paper looks weird at the top…..but still I’m pretty darn proud of it.  Actually I will probably try to fix that after I finish this post 🙂 .

And both inside covers worked pretty well, I used some paper that I got from an origami set so they would match:

 

So all in all it’s been a pretty productive day!  Oh, I also have some matchbook notebooks to show you, but I will do that in my next post.

Have a lovely evening!

Until next post,

Mish

Leave a Reply

